Indian Gynaecologists be like

The following tales are based on true events.
I have cut short the story to what the conversations amounted to.

Patient (Female): I am having heavy bleeding and irregular periods.
Gynaecologist (Female): You should get pregnant soon.

Patient (Female): I have been getting mid-cycle bleeding and I feel bloaty, tired all the time, lethargic and I think I am putting on weight.
Gynaecologist (Male): You should get pregnant soon.

Patient (Female): I have been diagnosed with PCOS. I wanted a second opinion.
Gynaecologist (Female): You should get pregnant soon.

Gynaecologist (Male): You have fibroids in your ovary.
Patient (Female): Oh.. is it dangerous? What does it mean? Can it go?
Gynaecologist (Male): No no..its common. But you should get pregnant soon.

These are true stories, based on what I and my female friends and family have faced. Did you notice in each of the cases, the Gynaecologist (male or female) is not addressing the issue that the patient is complaining about. Rather, they offer what they think is the most coveted (and unsolicited, mind you) advice we need to hear.

Get. Pregnant. Soon.

There are too many stories out there… of gynaecologist judging females based on their marital status, or their decisions to get pregnant or not, on their unhealthy habits, etc.

Is it so difficult to find an Indian gynaecologist who doesn’t judge and who doesn’t offer unsolicited pregnancy advice. Argghh!

 

This entry was posted in belief systems, equity issues, Gender, people, religion, society and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment